How viable is Sakura?

Hey all, I’m relatively new to the Street Fighter Scene. I came from the SSBM scene and have found an interest in Street Fighter. I originally started out on Ryu but then moved to Evil Ryu. I really like him, but recently I’ve found myself enjoying Sakura. I really enjoy the aggressive playstyle. She seems to be considered low on the tier list, but some people consider her really good, is she viable enough to do well decent against most of the cast(Keep in mind I come from Super Smash Bros Melee, where mid/low tier characters are mostly utter garbage)?

In AE2012 she was high tier, some considered her even top tier. In ultra some of her tools got nerfed but in return she got some other things as well. She dropped a bit in the tier list, but that’s mostly because other characters that were below her climbed up, where as she pretty much stayed the same. I’d say she’s still viable in this game, she doesn’t really have too many hard match ups and the few hard match ups she does have are very manageable. So if you want to learn her go for it.

Sakura used to be top tier in 2012 (she had a lot of ambiguous and unblockable setups) but is no longer as effective primarily to delay wakeup. She still is a great and viable character but requires strong execution at high level play. The majority of her matchups are favorable or even, with a few unfavorable (but not bad) matchups. Two great and active tournament players to watch are HumanBomb (China) and Alex Myers (USA). HumanBomb has a more footsie oriented Sakura and Alex Myers has a more oki oriented Sakura so you really get a great contrast from watching them.