How viable do you want Dan to be?

I know this is a tough question. I ask this because I recently started playing Sagat and read up on wiki about Sagat’s history. I didn’t know that it was Dan’s father who destroyed Sagat’s eye in a fight and then Sagat killed his father in a fit of rage.

There actually is a very deep story for Dan’s history. I’ve come to respect him to the point where I want him to be viable at a mid-tier range rather than at a lower-tier range. I feel like his fighting spirit is strong even though he’s very silly, and he’s trained enough and with enough passion to become a solid fighter rather than viewed solely as a character to not be taken seriously.

I’m not saying to turn Dan into something he’s not. I don’t want him to become some super serious guy. Actually for all I know the majority concensus might be that Dan is already a solid mid-tier. I don’t play him so I don’t know. For all I know, people might actually want him to stay lower tier since they enjoy purposely playing the underdog and making him stronger relative to other characters would take away from the reason they play Dan.

I don’t know, I was wondering what others thought.

P.S. Dan’s lk dan kick is ironically similar in function to Sagat’s lk tiger knee. He actually fights with his own version of a technique of his arch enemy!

I play Dan because of his pressue, I would love for him to be stronger but I’m skeptical about him getting any useful buffs

Likewise, but I just play Dan because I like him. He should still be Dan, but not stupidly crippled, if that makes any sense. Dan’s lk knee missing crouching opponents sometimes or his hitbox on his Gadouken are examples of this.

I don’t mind Dan being bottom tier but I would like Capcom to get rid of the STUPID stuff, that is:

• The ridiculously hittable hurtbox of Gadoukens
  • The Danku whiffing randomly on some crouching oponents
  • cl.LP. It’s SO BAD - GET RID OF IT.