How to use S. MP / S. HP?

Hey all,

I’m still a rank amateur at this game, and am trying to figure how how best to use my normals as Ken. Most of them I feel like I have a pretty good grip on, in terms of when to use them and when not to. But there are a couple that really confuse me, and they are the following:

S. MP

Honestly, I feel like this is the “free counter hits on Ken” button; I regret throwing this out 90% of the time. With a 7 frame startup and the lowish range, it just just always gets beat for me. It seems like I should be using it as a poke, since it’s the farthest non-negative on block normal I have, but I just cannot find a timing or spacing where it works. Is there a particular setup where this comes out on top?

S. HP

I get this in theory; it’s the faster Crush Counter, so use it as a punish. If somebody whiffs a Shoryuken next to me, this is pretty straightforward. But I have also seen some players ( Momochi, for example ) using this super-aggressively. Like, running up to people and pounding them with it. I am baffled as to how that works, as it’s a 9 frame startup. Is this some elaborate frame trap, or just a really good read?

Thanks for any advice!

This could have gone in the general questions thread but, since it didn’t here’s my 2 cents. ST. mp is very limited in its uses. the only time i really use it is after a fwd throw. Dash, st. mp is a perfect meaty in that sense. Other than that there’s really no reason to use it…st. mk and cr. mp are both superior pokes.

as far as st. hp…i agree its on the slow side a lot of times you’re reading your opponent for example you do cr. lp you’re +2, st. HP is 9 frames Your opponent has to decide after the cr. lp what they are going to do. the risk reward you get from cr. lp, walk back cr. hp is much greater than anything they will get in return for guessing correctly.