How to beat hugo with ZANGIEF?

Hey guys im pretty new at USF4, just wondering how do you play against hugo? I know the match is 5-5 but i just can’t seem to beat hugo. What should I or shouldn’t be doing in this match up?

Hugo can outpoke Zangief simply with low medium punch
This is fucking annoying and I dont know what I can do against this poke

Become numba one!

I usually just stand back and try to counter poke his stuff since most of it is really slow.

Same here, footsie wise it is not that bad if you keep your patience, however I’m having trouble when Hugo mix up his footsie game with dash forward lp.SPD, his dash is reallllly fast for a grappler, and his lp.SPD range is about the same as Gief’s. And once Hugo had the life lead, and a bar to spend, the whole matchup became a lot harder. Plus it is not safe back dash against Hugo, dat damn ex.DP will beat you everytime; I think it’s probably better to just play a neutral game, don’t try to play your knowdown gimmicks on Hugo as he has more options than us.

Anyway tried to study some online vid for this match up, none is that helpful so far(Itabash played like shit, and Snakeye’s vid is a bit out dated)

http://youtu.be/7dHFKOinym0

Far cr.hk works sometimes. Try to focus his pokes and claps. DON’T jump from a distance when he has meter, don’t do a lot of empty gh, he can spd those.
I think cr.lp OS ex.gh works as a whiff punish for his st. and cr.lk and his cr.lp, not sure though, Gotta hit the lab

Hi, this is my first time posting.

In Hugo vs. gief, if it’s not online, I feel that gief dominates the matchup. Zangief can “win with one button” more or less, that being his st. Roundhouse. Learn how to react to whiff by Hugo with roundhouse. This move already does plenty of damage, but tack on counter hit damage too? Hugo’s that like to whiff buttons all the time will see their health vanish.