How do you learn how to play makoto?

Hey guys , I’m fairly new to the game , I’ve been playing for ~100 hours± afk time in the lobby , I played ryu , but he’s boring , plus I still can’t do any combos.
Then I went to an endless lobby with a friend and started randoming , and I randomed makoto , she seems like a really fun character but since I’m really bad at the game I can’t really play her YET, and I thought I would ask here how can I learn her , pace to pace . I want to start with normals and few cancels , then get into some easy links , I can’t really trust youtube to teach me anything.
Another big problem I have with every character , even if I can hit a small combo in the training room , I don’t know how to start it in a real match , I can’t initiate it , also I can’t get to fadc into u1 on ryu because I don’t get a … natural feel , if I want to do it I have to fish for a shoryuken and I leave everything else aside to do that ,I don’t do other moves , etc.

If you’re gonna learn Makoto, here are the steps I recommend:

1. Learn your mobility tools. Mak has probably the most unique set of movement options in the game. Familiarize yourself with her forward moving command normals, dashes, how to alter your jump arc with axe kick, ect.

2. Learn your buttons. Mak has one of the best sets of normals in the entire game (except for a chainable 3 frame light attack), so getting familiar with their functions is priority.

3. Discipline yourself not to overuse Karakusa. I know that command grab is tempting, but the quickest way to die as Makoto is throwing out predictable Karakusas and getting blown up for them. As a rule of thumb, I never try for more than two in a single round.