Having trouble with Cap - Advice thread

I come to you fellow Cap players a bit lost so far. I played Cap all throughout MvC3 and so far in MvCi I’ve had a rough time. I still enjoy playing him a ton, and I think that he has potential but I find myself getting opened up a ton by faster characters and an onslaught of projectile and offensive pressure. I’m still learning how to deal with a few of these things defensively, but I did also notice that offensively I find it really hard to open people up with him. Do you think Cap is played better on point or as the secondary? Also - what do you recommend in terms of applying safer strings, as well as what are his optimal punish setups? I play him and Captain Marvel currently for reference.

Noted this could also have to do with me just being terrible so far, but i’m just looking for ways to improve my game.

I like to use reality stone with him. In neutral to deal with crazy air dashers I like to use the combination of reality surge and his heavy trick shot(qcf+hk).

Also the reality stone combined with his double jump can make him tricky to deal with in the air.

Don’t forget to make use of his dp.

To open people up I actually use tick throws a good bit cause they can lead to some ambiguous setups. F.lk is good in a blockstring because sometimes it catches a miss timed push block and it’s plus on block

We could just make this a critique thread if you want to post some of your matches

Thanks. Yeah, to be honest I’ve been thinking that Reality stone might be better for me, but I’ve been hesitant since I feel like way too many people have been using Reality Stone - kind of a pride thing but maybe i might need to switch it up. Other than that, sounds like some good ideas - i’ll post a few of my matches for some critique.

https://youtu.be/HgEEwaFFomY?list=PLGzDl3ldeyA9JPESlOtb8g4RqeFgG5p3z

https://youtu.be/LLbh8bJsgJw?list=PLGzDl3ldeyA9JPESlOtb8g4RqeFgG5p3z

1st Video