Good beginner team?

I’m new to KOF13 and I really want to learn the basics. Which 3 characters should I play to learn the fundamentals of this game?

P.S I play Gouken, Cody and Dudley in SFIV - although they are very different they all have one thing in common… they are hard hitting characters. Are there any characters in KOF13 that resemble these play styles? & If so will they work well together in a team? o_O
Sorry for the nooby questions :slight_smile: Just seeking some advice. Atm I’m really liking Terry…

Thanks

Maxima is the only real hard hitting character that isn’t a grappler, and I don’t know if he’s the best solution for learning KOF on. Clark is huge damage and is half grapple half striking and forces you to get used to the footsie/movement game found in KOF XIII. Frankly most of the shotoken-esque characters are a great choice for starting out in this game. Myriads of online videos and forum posts will point you in the direction of Claw/Flame Iori, NEST/Standard Kyo, etc. They’re great and have high damage potential.

Understand that ALL characters in this game have the same health values and have the ability to perform 35-50 pct health combos within 1/2 + 1 gauge bar. Terry happens to be one of the less optimal options if you’re simply seeking high damage values. He is more of a… halfassed zoner or maybe a specialty anti-air guy. I really like Terry too, but he’s not going to be your best option. Frankly, though, there is very few bad options in this game in my opinion, it’s more about finding what fits you/makes you happy and going from there.