Giving it a shot :)

Hey guys,

Want to post some questions and hopefully someone can help me out…

Long story short… i ve been unemployed for a while now, but instead of playing videogames all day (like i was tempted to), or settling with the first job “opportunity” that came my way, i used (and still use) all my time creating a fighting game - on paper - im not a programmer.

Being unsatisfied with the current fighting game scene (been playing for 26 years now), i wrote down every detail that would make the perfect old school fighting game.Think of it like a manual / recipe for making the perfect “1998” game with todays graphics (some of you might know what i mean ;)).
Even hired a graphic designer to design the characters (and he did a great job that exceeded my expectations).

So, after months and months of work and research i got everything down: Controls, Game Mechanics, Characters, Movelists (now working on input commands), Stages, even Music examples and Props / Scenarios for the cutscenes (work in progress).

All this info, along with a lot of pictures, added up to a printed out book of more than 230 A4 pages.

Then recently, i took that book and i walked in a big company (contrary to what internet forums advised) and got told by the receptionist that i can’t talk to anyone (not even HR). Surprisingly enough a guy outside checked out my project and he liked it. He managed to get me some time with a high ranking fellow there and we had a couple of meetings. Although they liked my work, negotiations didn’t go through successfully as they decided they won’t be making a fighting game any time soon.

my questions are these… So what now? i would have to travel abroad to repeat same procedure with a similar caliber company.

What would you do?

And… Does anyone here know someone i would want to talk to?