Getting absolutely destroyed in SSF4: AE

Hey guys

I’m pretty new to fighting games but I’ve always found them a lot of fun. Since USF4 was released relatively recently I thought I’d buy it. The game is a lot of fun but I’m getting absolutely DESTROYED like I have never gotten in any previous game before. I think I played 100 matches and won only 5. The people I play against usually have a lot more PP and BP (I’m not sure what they mean… ) so I don’t mind getting destroyed.

I play Ryu and have watched a few beginner videos on youtube but I usually don’t even get to do the simple combos like crouch mk + fireball. Usually I just get combo’d until I’m stunned and then get rekt and no matter how much I try to block they always hit me somehow.

I think it would help if I fought people around my level but I’m not sure if that’s possible. I haven’t found a matchmaking option that looks for people around my level (that is if the quick match option doesn’t already do that). I also play on an XBOX 360 controller which I heard was terrible but I don’t think that’s the problem. If the game really is almost unplayable on such a bad controller I’d be willing to spend a few bucks on a fighting stick as long as it’s not too expensive.

EDIT: I play on a PC so I don’t have ULTRA, sorry for the confusion.

I’m not an expert or a Ryu player but I’ll try give some basic tips. I can also tell you that SFIV in general is somewhat difficult for beginners
-Don’t jump unless you need to, because it leaves you open to attack. Dash if you want to gain ground
-Learn some of the basic moves like overheads and jabs etc. before you get into combos because for example you need to know what your overheads are because it works against your opponent when he/she is crouching. It’s not a high priority to learn combos in SF but it helps
-Go into Practice Mode to learn moves
-If you knock someone down, be prepared to block or you’ll get hit with a wake up attack like a Shoryuken