Firebrand unblockablesdont work?

Hi guys im new to learning firebrand i think hes the perfect addition into my growing skrull team. i do have a question about his unblockables. for his unblockable set ups i can get them to work if they block an incoming tenderizer but not if they actually get hit by the tenderizer. can players choose to get hit by tenderizer and ruin the unblockable set up or is this just poor execution on my end?

im sorry i mean the death loop or incoming mix ups to be clear.

Dont know if this relevant, but I remember once with my team (has Ammy though) that they x factored and did an advancing block somehow at the right moment and I was not able to connect for that incoming mixup

Getting hit by the tenderizer is definitely one of the more effective counters to the death loop. In addition to making the follow up significantly more difficult, it will prorate your combo, crank up hitstun decay, and prevent you from building back a full bar, and combo assists generally will not help you since firebrand uses both ground and wall bounces in his combos already. You CAN actually pick up after a tenderizer on hit with firebrand’s j. 2H, but the timing is too strict to be consistent, and whether or not you can get it to combo will also vary by character hit box.