Fighter Types?

Hi there! Since this is my first post here, let me just make a small introduction. I’m Slykor, I’m from Portugal and I’m currently, with some other friends developing a 2D fighting game for PC (Windows, Linux and Mac) on the Unity engine.
In my personal status I’m not experienced with fighters but I always loved to see people play them, I never had a big chance to play fighters but when I had the chance, I had tons of fun, I also love seeing the different features and fighters in fighting games, I remember being younger and playing Tekken 4 on the PS2 with my friend, tons of fun. And now I found this website, which seems to have a pretty solid commmunity and is focused on fighting games, just what I was looking for!

So basically, I wanted to ask how are fighters in various fighting games labeled? What do you label and how do you describe a ranged character? What’s the given name for a very quick character?

I made a bit of searching and found a little guideline on some archetypes on the GameFaqs website but I wanted to see what your replies are and if you agree with this, what can you add and what’s wrong or right.

*"Rushdown: A character that closes distance and attacks quickly, applying pressure on their foe immediately. A lot of their combos and specials end in knocking the opponent away, allowing for more “hit and run” tactics. The idea is to move in, hit hard, and hit fast. Rushdowns tend to be the fastest characters in a fighting game, but they also tend to have the lowest defense. Filia is a rushdown character here, as is Chipp Zanuff from Guilty Gear.