Elena's normals

Hey guys, so the Elena board is pretty dead. I’m sure this has been talked about, but one thread on the Elena board is just depressing.

So recently I started playing Elena more seriously. I’ve found that her normals are fucking amazing. Does anyone think another character has better normals and pokes? Normally my strat is to keep them away with poking and wait for them to get frustrated and do something stupid. This is when they throw out a shoryu and the hurt begins.

So how do you guys play Elena? As a new Elena player, do any Elena vets disagree? Do people consider Elena best with offense? defense? mixed?

Well Chun, obviously. lol.

I don’t think there is a rigidly defined way to play Elena that you can just watch in a match vid like you can with Yun or Chun-Li. Some people like to turtle or use healing, some people like to rush with kara throws and mixups.

She’s so unpopular that it doesn’t seem like there are a whole lot of authorities to ask about this sort of stuff, I mean we have some pretty good Elena players here like Skankin, and there are vids of Elena playing at SBO and stuff, but I don’t think anyone’s bothered to get to a really high level with Elena (like Aruka is with Ibuki).

I think the reason no one’s bothered to get very far with her is because she’s kind of like to Chun-Li what Sean is to Ken…similar, but way worse. Everything she can do, Chun can do better, except for maybe her overhead, her crossup, and her ability to be from Kenya. If you’re gonna bother learning to hit confirm off crouching MP and kara throw and memorize a whole bunch of proper distances to use certain pokes, you might as well go all the way and pick Chun.

Yeah, but then I’d be just another chun player. I think the highest I would be willing to play is Dudley. I just don’t feel clean playing the top.

you’re pretty much using chun strats anyway. stop being a scrub

Elena = half assed Chun. She’s still fun to use though.