Dr. Shoals Overview and General Discussion Thread

This is a place to discuss anything about Dr. Shoals, such as sharing tips, analyzing matchups, and fighting over her best costume color. I should state that I am by no means an expert Divekick or Shoals player; I simply bought Divekick at release and Shoals is the character that most clicked with me, so I decided to start this thread. English is not my first language, so please excuse any spelling errors. Also, feel free to point out any misinformation, I will correct it as soon as possible!

Summary of Dr. Shoals’ moveset;

Dive
A good normal jump. It has no special properties, but it takes Shoals pretty far up. For reference, her jump height is close to Mr. N’s, and slightly higher than Dive’s.

Kickback
Unlike most characters, Shoal’s kickback resembles a backdash as seen in other fighting games. It has a great range, and does not move her upwards. This is very useful when the opponent divekicks at her from above; a diagonal-upwards kickback would still get her hit in the feet, but Shoals’ kickback gets her out of the way without exposing herself. The downside of the kickback’s horizontal movement is that she gains no height to divekick from. This makes Shoals’ kickback unfit for punishing whiffs, or building meter.

Divekick