Does Joe have a crossup?

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to CVS2, trying to inject a bit of variety into my Joe game. Started playing C/S - Joe. I’m not sure whether this was posted or not but…

Does Joe have a crossup? I feel I’m getting too predictable with my poke strings/pressure combos. I have pretty much a 50/50 chance when mixing it up between pokes, c.rh, and throws. My problem is mainly against characters w/ good high priority wakeups. I’m not really sure what to do here; I can’t think of much other than to back off and throw out Hurricanes from a distance.

However, this isn’t really an optimal strategy. 2 out of 3 possible outcomes cause the match to essentially reset; the last causes the match to swing in your opponent’s favor:

(1) Hurricanes Hit; you recover just as the opponent recovers, maybe a few frames sooner. But you are now 2/3 screen away. Match is reset. You need to work your way back in w/ poke strings, etc to get the next knockdown.

(2) Hurricanes Blocked: It pushes opponent away (unless in corner), causes minor chip damage. Follow up with…? RH slide?

(3) Opponent RCs: you completely lose your momentum if they RC a quick special move (e.g., RC Yun Lunge Punch, RC Blanka Ball, RC Hurricane Kick). Against a good RCer, it’s no longer safe to pressure with Hurricanes. But now we’re back to square 1, the 50/50 poke string/throw mixup game.

Thus, I started picking up S-Joe for the dodge/charge mixup bit, but I really miss the ability to sit on a lvl 3 Double Tornado.

I was wondering, does Joe have any crossup whatsoever? I would think it would greatly improve his pressure/rushdown game if he does.

Otherwise, what’s the best way to add variety to Joe’s pressure/poke game? Corpse-hopping dashes in C-groove? Corpse-hopping LK Golden Heel Flips (what I do now, to some extent)? I’m thinking of mixing in a few RC Crazy Hands to increase my options, but it’s not an option in S-groove.

Or maybe I’m just being too predictable?

Thanks all,

• Mr. Sparkle