Cold Blue Kick: how do you use this thing...?

so i just started playing Remy. i had a look at some of the threads here, and gathered that i needed to learn charge partitioning to use him at a somewhat decent level, so i did a bit of that (carrying over from Oro mostly), and can sorta do the rapid-fire LOV thing in the corner and stuff.

problem is, i think i should’ve left that til last coz i’m stuck wondering what Remy’s Cold Blue Kick (CBK) is used for. i originally thought it was for getting in close while maintaining charge after a fullscreen LOV, but with partitioning i can sorta do that with dashes anyway. it works nicely as a crossup on a downed opponend tho, and i suppose the iffiness in trying to parry it means i should use it in close sometimes. but i’ve yet to find any reliable combos that involve the CBK, and overall it doesn’t seem like a huge part of his game.

i’m probably very wrong though (i have no CBK and my Remy stinks). is it important?

its more of a poke than a special move. it hops over low moves so its used as a footsie counter. u shouldnt be using it up close unless its a ex version, or your planning on crossing over via roundhouse version. from max range is where its best used.

on crouching opponents u can combo into it.

close forward -> short cbk
close roundhouse first hit -> short cbk

Listen to Everdred. He’s pretty much the master Remy player/strategist around here.

As he mentioned, use it from far away. It’s favorable that it be Remy’s foot that hits the opponent. If the CBK is too deep, and the opponent parries or blocks, you’ll be at the mercy of a throw or anything else really.

Speaking of throws though, Remy can’t be thrown out of the CBK. So it’s sometimes useful to use at point blank when you’re playing an opponent that likes to throw. You’ll smack them and should just jump back with a hk afterwards, since most likely another throw attempt is coming up.