Chun li vs fei long

Hi all,

I’ve been using Chun-Li lately and have found that I have problems with Fei Long. I was wondering if someone could give me some pointers on how to fight him. (I also have problems with Deejay and sometimes Vega as well but Fei Long is by far the biggest thorn in my side…so if anyone has tips on those 2 also that would be great.) I’d say I’m an above average street fighter player but definitely not a pro. I majored in Street Fighter 2 at UCLA back when champion and turbo editions were around so I’m not as familiar with the HD remix, but I’ve played enough since buying it to know most about how it works. Thanks in advance for any tips!

Speed

I have yet to play any good Fei Longs but if you’re having trouble with an airborne Fei, try using neutral jump HK. If they haven’t nerfed it, it’ll beat chicken wing kick (which has nerfed air-to-air priority now, I believe) and pretty much all his jump ins. Or maybe a psychic jump mp.

Run away and jab fireball all day son.

Ok, I will give that a try. Thanks!

Fei’s chicken wing kick is really good, and now that it’s dead easy to do, Fei players like to abuse it. Chun Li’s standing roundhouse is your friend, it stops the CW cold.

Yes, yes.

Basically, you wanna turtle the crap out of this match. This used to be a bad thing to do, because Chun had no answer for repeated Chicken Wings in the corner (J.Lk has always beat it cleanly), but now the Chicken Wing trap, while still effective, isn’t quite as deadly against Chun. Playing the mind game here is favorable compared to how it used to be.

When you’re not in the corner, do a lot of C.Mk and Neutral J.Lk, mixed in with Kikokens - especially for AA. This will give Fei a hard time knocking you down, hitting you with Rekkas, etc.