Beginer Ken

Ok, well. I am pretty new to capcom vs snk2 EO.

I have chosen to use ken and I want to know some basics , so I can start with a good foundation to work on. So far this is how I play:

I throw fire balls from far. When I go in for a hit, I jump kick then sweep or something. then I just try to get em with shorukens and spin kicks for the rest of the match, I also try and get off supers which works sometimes but they usually get blocked.

First of all, I need to know some new advanced ways of playing with ken because I know the way I am playing isn’t very effective. My main problem is that I always get cornered, and then pounded. It seems when I let go of block (back) to jump or get out of a combo I just get hit more.

Please give me some beginer pointers, thx.

Ok, I’ve never really managed to put my Ken into words. It’s really techy. I’ll do my best though.

To start off, I’d like to say that for the longest time, I basically never used Ken’s hadouken except to stuff the opponent when they wake up or for chip damage if they block on wake-up. If you play like this for a long time, as in basically without hadoukens, it will indefinately benefit you in the end. Don’t get me wrong, hadoukens have a use, what I’m saying is that what I did was master as much Ken as I could before learning to incorperate the hadouken into his bread and butter combos, and into my general strategy as a whole. So I’ve gone from virtually no hadoukens to using them to bait, to gain meter, to chip, to stuff wake-ups, to end B&B combos, etc… In taking this path I feel it has overall improved the potential of my Ken.