basic gameplan

I main Ken and started to use Rose as a side character recently. As I like to keep it simple cause I’m still pretty new to fighting games I wrote down a simple game plan. I just wanted to see if I missed something important.

Basically all I do at the moment is poke and run.

Pokes I use: st.HK, f.HK, cr.MP

Combos: cr.MP or cr.HP xx Soul Spiral

Anti Air: cr.Hp

From time to time I dash up and do a throw.

That’s basically it. Anything I really should implement? And what should I use to keep up pressure after a knockdown? Crossup j.MK, cl.MK, cr.MP xx Soul Spiral comes to my mind, but I’m not sure about that.

Try to practice a few more anti-air options: slide, jumping HK, ex soul spiral and ex soul throw. In some matchups cr.HP alone is easily beaten and you’ll have to mix them up. Also learn to focus backdash any jumping attack that you are not confident about (crossups in particular).

For pokes, pretty much all of her far normals and command normals have a function, unlike most other character that rely only on a small subset of their moves. At least start by adding cr.MK -> ex spiral, slide, and raw spiral to the mix.

Cl.MK is too slow to combo after a crossup MK most of the time, you want cl.MP or cr.LP -> cr.LK instead. All of these have a 1 frame link into cr.MP .

In general since Rose has the advantage in the footsie game, the first thing you need to learn is to discourage the opponent from jumping and from throwing fireballs (fireballs are really problematic for her until you learn how to absorb them, relect them and ex-spiral through them consistently).

Ok, thanks for the advice.

On wakeup I guess I’m limited to backdash, crouch tech and ex spiral, right?

And blocking.
If you focus backdash instead of backdashing the opponent won’t be able to use options selects to punish you. If you have less than 2 ex bars, focus backdash by pressing LP+LK+MP+MK, which will give you a throw tech.