Anyone willing to help a newbie?

So Im orginally a umvc3 player been playing that game since vanillas release. Ive played other fighting games before this one competitively (ssbm,ssbb, vanilla marvel 3, and umvc3) so im not a complete noob. Just a newb to street fighter.

Well I messed around with a ton of characters in street fighter and seem to have taken a liking to yang. His movement, command dashes, mantis slashes, and his ultra/supers all look hella sick compared to the other characters, and hes voiced by the guy that voices zero in marvel (who is my main in umvc3 actually). So im gonna main him and prolly just him. Are there any tips you guys can give me?

As far as what to use what not to use, links, combos and such. Or at least a point in the right direction. Any advice is much appreciated. Im on xbox my gamer tag is voteableaura, thanks to everyone in advance!

At the risk of shamelessly plugging my own videos i started a Yang tutorial video series which i can link you to here (Two chapters so far).

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Aside from these, there’s a lot of good stuff here on this forum. I suggest you take a little bit of time to have a look around as there’s plenty of things covered on here that isn’t in any of my Videos…but the videos are a good place to start! I wish you luck!

The two main BnBs to know:

1. cr.LKx3 xx Slashes
  2. cr.LP, st.LP, cr.MK xx Slashes.

Generally your main mixup tool is going to be FADC 2nd HP Slash into whatever. It lets you combo into ultra, but more importantly (imo) is the ability to do cl.MK (his launcher) into whatever you want. I also like to do 2nd LP Slash FADC into command grab.

Some don’ts:

1. Spam divekick. His divekick is hella unsafe unless you hit waist high or below. If you notice them focusing your dives, try to do his target combo jump-in to beat that.
  2. Using more than his 1st LP rekka, unless you hit confirm. 1st LP rekka is -2, I believe. It’s relatively safe and meh chip.